Home   The Bean Blog   Success Story

Success Story

kebaMy name is Keba and I am a 44 year old single mom of a 23 year old girl and a 13 year old boy. Living in a neighborhood where youth gang activity is prevalent, I have successfully held my children to high expectations of achievement. My son is a honor student despite negative peer pressure to succumb to delinquent behaviors and my daughter is a graduate of ITT Tech and is working full-time for a television and cable broadcasting company. It hasn’t always been easy for me, in fact, it’s been a rough road early in my life.

My mother was killed when I was in high school and I didn’t know how to cope with all of the intense emotions related to losing a parent in such a violent way. So I dropped out of high school and fell in with the wrong crowd, and had my son with an abusive man whom I had been in an unhealthy relationship with. I survived the domestic violence and cut him out of my life. He is currently serving a 24 year prison sentence for murder.

I have always worked to support my family, but was unemployed for 2 years before applying to Women’s Bean Project. I was looking for a job and all of the places I applied for turned me down, except for Women’s Bean Project. It was hard for me in job interviews because I was previously laid off and had no self-esteem.

charlotte-training-keeba-in-shippingWhen I walked into the Bean Project to apply, I liked what I saw. Everything about the program sounded like it was speaking just to me and what I needed in order to gain better job skills, and to work on areas of my life I was lacking in. Now I have hope because Women’s Bean Project has given me back my self-worth and the opportunity to create a better future for myself and my family. I’m so happy knowing that I will never give up.

After 6 months of learning new job skills in production and shipping, and working hard on life skills to help build my self-confidence, I was connected with a potential job opportunity at CoorsTek through a partnership the Bean Project has with Activate Workforce Solutions. After going to the informational session and interview process, I was offered a position as Quality Control Inspector 1. I am so excited for the opportunity and all that I have learned at Women’s Bean Project. Now I have a full-time job waiting for me when I graduate next week with opportunity to grow and to receive health benefits for me and my son.

I won’t have to rely on food stamps anymore and can finally have stability for me and my son.

~Keba, 2016-17 Program Participant/Graduate



One comment

  1. God Bless you, Charlotte. I’m so happy to hear that you are a participant in the program and that Women’s Bean Project is making a difference in your life. You deserve every good thing in this world. May your life only get better as you make the effort to change your life for the positive. YOU CAN DO IT!!! My mom was on heroin most of her short life. I was spared the addiction but only because my great-grandmother and grandmother stepped in and saved me and my sister from my mother’s unpredictable lifestyle. Please know that I am praying for you. Love, Sheila


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



By submitting this form, you are granting: Women's Bean Project, 3201 Curtis St., Denver, CO, 80205, permission to email you. You may unsubscribe via the link found at the bottom of every email. (See our Email Privacy Policy (http://constantcontact.com/legal/privacy-statement) for details.) Emails are serviced by Constant Contact.

Free shipping on orders of $50 or more all the time! *excludes wholesale orders